Busy week so far…

Pardon me for the tardiness in updating this blog. Wait.. wait.. there is a really great excuse for this, we have a visitor at home. My darling sister in law came to town on a break this week, so I have been enjoying the fact that there is another woman-person at home to talk to and spend time with. So much so that this blog has had to suffer for it, oops! However, lunchboxes continue to be packed, and have also had a little motivation to try out new recipes, e.g. chocolate macarons with salted caramel filling (ooooh, mama!) and baked coffee cheesecake, not to mention our little stash of cookies around my finally completed “hospitality corner.”

So what did I pack for my dear boy’s lunchbox this week? OK, here goes:

IMG_00000270 IMG_00000269

Monday:

  • Roasted butternut, carrots and chicken sausage soup
  • Cheese scones
  • Steamed vegetables (broccoli and cauliflower)

Tuesday:

IMG_00000276

  • Rice noodles
  • Chicken and vegetable broth

I separated all items – rice noodles is blanched in hot water and kept separate from the broth so that it won’t get soggy. The broth is kept hot in the thermos along with the chicken pieces, vegetables are also placed separately from the broth, otherwise there will not be enough broth for the noodles.

Wednesday:

IMG_00000284

  • Lamb Souvlaki
  • Tzatziki
  • Home-made pita bread

I will fill in the recipes below each of the heading above later when time permits, but for now, I hope the pictures will help with some packing ideas.

Another project I had been working on is my abovementioned hospitality corner. One of the final purchases I made in Riyadh was the much wanted Cuisinart coffee maker with burr grinder attached. The machine grinds coffee beans fresh each time, and as the freshly made coffee is stored in a thermal carafe, there is no need for a hotplate to keep the pot of coffee warm either, so goodbye burnt tasting and smelling coffee! (Yes, yes, I did count the number of times I used the word coffee in the previous sentence!) Anyhoo.. it would be nice to have a corner where one can make coffee or tea and have some nibbles (cookies/biscuits and other lovely nibblets) – so, with all the hardware in place, it was time to bake. The result is a small jar of granola, and 2 glass jars containing oatmeal cookies and chocolate chip with malt cookies, to go along with the coffee and tea corner. Ahh… Now that is in place, I am a satisfied woman.

IMG_00000267Ā  IMG_00000268

To round this update up, I decided to make chocolate macarons with salted caramel filling because my son thought macaroons and macarons are one and the same… so he had to be educated, so there! (Yes, yes, and the education ended with all the said macarons being consumed the same night, sigh with nary a picture to take.)

IMG_00000285 IMG_00000289

Finally, I made a baked coffee cheesecake for sister in law (and me,) to have with our coffee as we inaugurated the hospitality corner in my cute little house šŸ™‚ Hmm, we are running a little low in the cookie department, but no worries, I still have the dough all rolled up in the freezer, ready to be sliced and baked pronto when the last cookie is consumed šŸ™‚

IMG_00000287 IMG_00000290

About mumstech
Retired at 40 after working in various industries including banking and financial services, oil and gas as well as higher education.Now a stay-at-home mum, cheerleader for husband and son, cleaner, nutritionist, cook, laundry lady, driver, clerk cum administration assistant, public relations, personal assistant... I never knew that squeaky clean floors can give me such satisfaction!

Leave a Reply

